The book that refocused a career

The Shack book
Wayne Jacobsen
had approached me in late 2006 with a book project that he was extremely excited about. I had been helping him with graphic design work for a number of years so he asked if I’d be interested in doing cover concepts for a book by an author that had contacted him.

Originally no publishing company would touch this book because it was considered too controversial by some and the author was considered too unknown by others. So Wayne and friend, Brad Cummings formed Windblown Media to publish it themselves.

Two years later and with over seven million copies in print and on the NY Times best seller list for almost a year, The Shack, by William Paul Young, is an amazing publishing success story.  [UPDATE – Nov. 2009: 10 Million copies in print!]

I had the good fortune of being one of the designers of The Shack and designed the interior pages as well.

The book that launched a publishing company also helped to refocus my own design career. As a result of The Shack’s success I’ve been blessed with several other book projects and an increasing passion for this kind of work. It feels more like fun than work!

Besides my work on The Shack I also created Windblown Media’s logo and The Missy Project logo, which is used in their viral marketing.

Wiindblown logo and Missy Project logo

And besides being grateful for what the book has done for me and my desired career path I am grateful to Paul Young for writing such a story that has impacted so many people – me included.

If you’re interested in more information on The Shack’s success here are a couple of articles:
Wikipedia.com
BlackVoices.com

 

4 Comments

Filed under "book cover design", The Shack

4 responses to “The book that refocused a career

  1. It is sooo cool to have “my” book cover just below “The Shack.” I feel honored, thanks, Dave!

  2. Thank you, Carol. It’s strange because I didn’t realized that I posted this. I started last night working this post, having a difficult time getting my thoughts together. I must have hit the “update” button and posted it with just the headline and no story.

    I’ll try to fill in some details now. 🙂

  3. “It feels more like fun than work…” My son, the long-haired musician, was interviewed for the newspaper after he’d won a pretty impressive award for his tenor sax playing when he was a senior in high school. He told the reporter that he didn’t want to work a day in his life, because “if you do what you love, it’s not really working.” He was talking about playing music. He’s still not really working, but plays whenever he can.

    Anyone who can do this is truly blessed!

  4. Good for your son, Carol!

    Is he hiring? 🙂

Leave a Reply

