The future looks brighter for us book design folks.

Apple iPad displays images beautifully. Just think how good book covers could look!

Print designers, especially book cover designers have been concerned over the future of the printed page in light of the growing trend of  digital reading devices such as the Kindle and Sony Reader. Perhaps we can worry no more. The new Apple iPad displays images beautifully.

I don’t believe the printed page will be going away any too soon, but Apple has certainly given us a look into a brighter future.

The new Apple iPad – hope for print designers everywhere 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under "book cover design", Amazon's Kindle, Apple iPad, Sony Reader

8 responses to “The future looks brighter for us book design folks.

  1. Wow! I’ve heard the hoopla on the radio but you know what they say…a picture’s worth a thousand words.

    So…are you going to drink the koolaid and buy a tablet? I will admit that I’ve been drooling over an Ipod touch….one day…..one day…..

  2. Not for a while T! It’s still too hefty a price for me. I would love to see Apple eventually make one with a writing/drawing stylus. Then it might become a gizmo that I can’t live without. 🙂

  3. It will be great if covers can make the transition to digital (rather than go the way of the LP Album cover artwork).

    Coupled with the growing trend of authors to self-publish, it may be that those designing and illustrating books may be able to continue producing beautiful products, just as previous generations have over the last 500 years of book printing.

    –Duncan
    =====================
    Freelance book cover illustrator for HarperCollins, PS Publishing, Pocket Books, Solomon Press, Fort Ross, and many other publishers. See my book cover illustrations at: http://DuncanLong.com/art.html

    • Hi Duncan – The times they are a changing, for sure. I am hopeful. As I’ve shared before, there will always be a need for designers and illustrators to create images to sell books and everything else. I wonder what other new software and services may come about with this transition. What else will we need to know and grow into? So much speculation with this new medium.

  4. Benn

    I too would like it to have writing capabilities. It would be great to take notes in class or meetings with a stylus or make sketches. The few tablet PC’s have a rudimentary for this or document capabilities. Until then I think I will wait. it is a great first step.

    • I’m waiting too, Benn. I think it always wise to wait for some new thing to be out for while before purchasing. The price always comes down and they’ve worked out the bugs and made improvements.

  5. Dera Sir,

    Can I have your permission to use iPad photo in my blog?
    I apologize to put it before asking but as my lack of information, I didn’t know that flickrs photos has rights.
    If you do not approve I will remove the photo immediately.

    Thanks for your considerations.

  6. Hi, yes you may. Would you give me a credit reference as well? A link back to my blog here would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

