Sneek peak – revised

Skully the Matryoshka Doll

The revised illustration - more sinister looking.

Round Two

It’s been a little while since I revised this illustration (with the “sinister filter” in Photoshop). I am waiting for the final go-ahead to complete the cover of this book so that I can post it in its entirety, but I wanted to show the approved illustration. Definitely more sinister looking. The client, author, and publisher all agreed thankfully, and love it. (Whew!)

Besides the skull face I added texture to the surfaces to give a more realistic feel and move away from the flat, cartoony look that I had before.

Next step will be the back cover, flaps and spine for this one. Looking forward to it.

-Dave

5 Comments

Filed under "book cover design", illustration

5 responses to “Sneek peak – revised

  1. In some ways I like the cartoony fellow better. More playful. But then again, this story is not a playful story, like an Agatha Christie-Murder She Wrote. I can’t say anymore about it or they’ll…

  2. Love it Dave..very skerrrrry.

  3. I’m scared! I’m scared! THIS is definitely more sinister! Way to go, Dave!

Leave a Reply

